0 Items

UN Mission in the Congo MONUC Miniature

Miniature £10.00 (Inc. Vat)


UN Mission in the Congo MONUC Miniature.

Date: 1999-2010

Campaign: United Nations Mission in the Congo. Read more on the Official United Nations Peacekeeping Missions website; MONUC Official Page.

Branch of Service: UN forces.

Ribbon: Pale blue ribbon with wide central dark blue stripe edged with yellow.

Description: (Obverse) the wreathed globe emblem surmounted by the letters UN; (reverse) inscribed “IN THE SERVICE OF PEACE”.

Nil clasps
  • Mention in Despatches (MiD) single bronze oak leaf (pre 1994)
  • Mention in Despatches (MiD) silver oak leaf (post 1994)
  • Queen’s Commendation for Brave Conduct (QCBC) single bronze oak leaf (pre 1994)
  • Queen’s Commendation for Valuable Service in the Air (QCVSA) single bronze oak leaf (pre 1994)
  • Queen’s Commendation for Bravery (QCB) silver laurel leaves (post 1994)
  • Queen’s Commendation for Bravery in the Air (QCBA) silver wings (post 1994)
  • Queen’s Commendation for Valuable Service (QCVS) silver oak leaves (post 1994)
Nil engraving

Additional information


Source – http://www.un.org/en/peacekeeping/sites/medals/monusco.htm

The Mission was established on 24 February 2000 by the adoption of the Security Council Resolution 1291. The main goals of the Mission are to monitor the implementation of the Ceasefire Agreement and to investigate violations of the ceasefire, to work with the parties to obtain the release of all prisoners of war and to supervise and verify the disengagement and redeployment of the parties' forces.

MONUC medal was established on 2 May 2000. The ribbon has two outer bands of UN blue, representing the UN presence in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC). Inside the two bands, there are two equal bars in yellow, they represent the dawn of peace and prosperity. The dark blue in the middle of the yellow represents the Conge river.

On 28 May 2010, Security Council unanimously adopted Resolution 1925 (2010), extending the mandate of MONUC until 30 June 2010 and decided that from 1 July onwards MONUC shall be referred to as MONUSCO. SCR 1925 reflected the new phase reached in the country.

Qualifying time of service for the receipt of MONUC/MONUSCO medal is 90 days. The following countries participate in the Military and the Civilian Police component of MONUSCO: Algeria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Benin, Bolivia, Bosnia y Herzegovina, Burkina Faso, Canada, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, China, CoteD’Ivoire, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, France, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Jordan, Kenya, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mali, Malawi, Morocco, Mongolia, Mozambique, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Senegal, Serbia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America, United Republic of Tanzania, Uruguay, Yemen and Zambia.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “UN Mission in the Congo MONUC Miniature”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *